Oregon Dealer License

Oregon Dealer License

Obtaining an auto dealer license is the first step in starting your car sale business and exploring the possibilities of the auto dealership industry. The licensing process involves a number of criteria that you must meet. Obtaining a car dealer bond is an important requirement that you must fulfill in order to obtain a license. There are also several things to keep in mind when you decide to apply for an Oregon dealer license. Let’s start!

How many cars can I sell in Oregon without a dealer’s license?

In Oregon, you can sell up to five cars per year. If you sell more than this, you need a dealer’s license. This license will not only allow you to sell more than five cars, but it will also allow you to appear on the Oregon dealer license lookup. DMV can impose civil fines of up to $5,000 per vehicle for violating licensing laws.

How do you get a dealer’s license in Oregon?

The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles is responsible for granting auto dealership licenses (DMV). The DMV website has online dealer application packets as well as complete application information.

Here is a step-by-step guide, continue reading. You can use our Oregon dealer license lookup to define what you need to do to get your license.

Decide which type of license you need

The first step is to determine which form of car dealer license you will be applying for. The following are the different categories of dealers in Oregon:

  • Dealership for New Vehicles
  • Dealership for Used Automobiles
  • Sale of motorcycles, mopeds, snowmobiles, and/or ATVs

Obtain a Permanent Business Location

Your vehicles must be sold and displayed at your business location. The location must meet the following requirements:

  • City/county zoning approval is needed. You must have your original application form signed in your local city or county office to get approval for your venue.
  • Have enough space to show off one or more vehicles that your dealer license allows you to sell.
  • Provide general public access to your dealer at any time during regular business hours.
  • Permanently affix an external sign to the building that identifies the dealership by the name on the car dealer certificate.
  • Keep the vehicle dealer certificate in a visible and easily accessible place.

Get Proof of Liability Insurance

Your insurance agent must complete, sign, and stamp the liability insurance certification form issued by the DMV (on the second page). A form provided by the insurance provider will also be accepted by the DMV as long as it is a copy of the DMV form. Note that if you sell certain types of cars, you might be eligible for an exemption.

Get Your Automobile Dealer Bond

A car dealer bond in Oregon costs a small percentage of the total bond number. The cost of a bond is determined by your financial strength, such as personal credit.

To become licensed in Oregon, you must first acquire an auto dealer bond. Your application should include a surety bond form.

  • For new and used vehicle licenses, a $40,000 bond is required.
  • Motorcycles, mopeds, snowmobiles, and ATVs are – $2,000.

Take a Pre-Licensing Course

New auto dealers are required to complete eight hours of pre-licensing education and receive a certificate, which must be submitted with their application.

Approved education providers:

  • Certified Dealer Education School: www.ordealers.com, 503-399-9199 or 877- 541-2277
  • @ Your Pace Online: www.onlineautodealered.com, 877-724-6150 or atcontact@ atyourpaceonline.com
  • 5th Gear Enterprises, (503) 523-2339 or [email protected]
  • Auto Dealers Certified Education School: www.oiada.com, 503-362-6839 or (800) 447-0302
  • Dealer Title Services Inc.: www.dealered.net, 800-852-5040

Check to see if you are excluded from having to obtain a certificate of education. If so, fill out form 735-370C.

Apply for a dealer license

Complete the Standard Three-Year Oregon Dealer Application Packet (only for New and Used Motor Vehicle licenses) or the Special Three-Year Oregon Dealer Application Packet (for Motorcycle, Moped, Snowmobile, and/or ATV licenses).

  • Fees: $1,187 for a three-year license and one plate, plus $350 per additional location
  • Additional plates are $54 each.

Send your application to:

DMV Headquarters
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314

How much is a dealer license in Oregon?

The fee for a three-year license is $1,187, which includes one license plate. Also, each additional plate will set you back $54. If you want to license a second venue, you’ll have to pay an extra $350 fee.

We hope you have successfully completed your Oregon auto dealers license lookup. Now it’s time to obtain your auto dealer license.



Lily has six years of expertise as an SEO content writer. She has authored numerous articles for a variety of websites and businesses on various topics. She can help with ghostwriting, blog writing, guest posting, tech writing, etc. Lily writes SEO content for companies looking to improve their Google search rankings. She regularly writes articles about business licenses, digital marketing, cybersecurity, fashion, psychology, etc. Lily has established a unique writing style throughout the years of content writing for a variety of websites. She has also worked as an SEO specialist. Lily has achieved very high rankings for the websites with which she has collaborated. In her works, she employs a combination of various SEO and content tools, as she understands that well-optimized content is the KING.